A Liverpool-based company Kneeshaw & Lupton bought the Nant in 1861 and built accommodation barracks for quarry workers who traveled from afar. By 1900 around 2000 quarrymen were employed in granite quarries along a five mile stretch of coastline on the north Lleyn peninsula. In 1911 Nant Gwrtheyrn merged with other local quarries to form part of the Welsh Granite Company, managed by the Darbyshire family. A unique and multicultural community was formed as workers and their families came to the Nant from England, Ireland and Scotland as well as Wales. The Plas, home of the quarry manager, can be seen on the far left and Capel Seilo, which held the village school as well as paryer meetings and the Band of Hope, can be seen on the far right.